Provincial Immigration

Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs

Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs) are immigration programs operated by individual provinces and territories in Canada to address their specific economic and demographic needs. These programs allow provinces and territories to nominate individuals for permanent residence in Canada based on their skills, work experience, and ability to contribute to the local economy. Here are some key details about the Provincial Nominee Programs:

  1. Participating Provinces and Territories:
    • Almost all provinces and territories in Canada have their own PNP, each with its unique criteria and streams. The participating regions include British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
  2. Express Entry-linked Streams:
    • Many provinces have PNPs that are aligned with the federal Express Entry system. Candidates who are eligible for Express Entry and have a provincial nomination receive additional points, significantly increasing their chances of receiving an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residence.
  3. Non-Express Entry Streams:
    • Some provinces have streams that operate outside the Express Entry system. These streams may have different eligibility criteria and application processes.
  4. Occupation-specific Streams:
    • Some PNPs have specific streams targeting individuals with certain occupations or skills that are in demand in that province or territory. These streams often have lists of eligible occupations.
  5. Entrepreneur and Investor Streams:
    • Some provinces have streams designed for entrepreneurs and investors who wish to start or invest in a business in that region. These streams may have specific investment and business experience requirements.
  6. International Graduate Streams:
    • Some PNPs have streams for international graduates who have completed their studies in that province and wish to transition to permanent residence.
  7. Minimum Eligibility Requirements:
    • While specific requirements vary by province, common criteria include education, work experience, language proficiency, and a genuine intention to live and work in the nominating province.
  8. Nomination Process:
    • To be nominated, candidates typically need to submit an application to the respective PNP. If nominated, they can then apply for permanent residence to the federal government.
  9. Quotas and Processing Times:
    • PNPs often have quotas for the number of nominations they can issue each year. Processing times can vary, and some PNPs may process applications more quickly than others.
  10. Changing Criteria:
    • PNP criteria may change based on the economic and demographic needs of each province. Applicants should regularly check the respective provincial immigration websites for the latest information.


Individuals interested in the Provincial Nominee Programs should carefully review the specific eligibility criteria of the province or territory they are interested in, as each program is unique. Provincial websites and official immigration resources are valuable sources for up-to-date and accurate information.

Contact Us

Query Form

Follow My Social Media :